Thursday, July 31, 2008

Martek life's DHA supplements ARE NOT VEGETARIAN

Have already written about how vital DHA omega-3s are, and how vegetarians would have difficulty obtaining enough of this essential fatty acid (efa).

At first glance, Martek's life's DHA supplements would seem to be a great answer to the dearth of vegetarian sources of DHA. A single capsule contains a day's worth of DHA. And the company makes a point of how their DHA is vegetarian sourced (from marine algae).

However, Martek has chosen to encapsulate their supplements using gelatin capsules (also containing glycerine). [Gelatin and glycerine are listed in the "Other Ingredients" section.] So, basically they're catering to people who either aren't fond of fish, or who don't want the mercury that often accompanies fish. The vegetarians and vegans get screwed again.


Tag this post with:
Delicious Logo Delicious Digg Logo Digg Technorati Logo Technorati reddit Logo reddit Facebook Logo Facebook Stumble Upon Toolbar StumbleUpon Furl Logo Furl Digg Logo blinklist

Found this article interesting? Check out:
History: The Roadmap to the Future.
History: The Roadmap to the Future--Africa.
History: The Roadmap to the Future--Asia.
History: The Roadmap to the Future--Europe.
History: The Roadmap to the Future--Latin America.

The Science Fiction Channel + Technorium.
The Vegetarian Diaries + Biologeel.